Mercedes-Benz introduces new naming system

Mercedes-Benz introduces new naming system

2016 Mercedes-Benz MLC 5
Just like BMW, Cadillac and Infiniti, Mercedes-Benz has decided to revamp their entire naming system, because apparently they were afraid it was getting too complicated. But unlike the nonsense that the other luxury brands have been dishing out, the new Mercedes-Benz nomenclature makes slightly more sense in some ways.

Beginning in 2015, Mercedes-Benz is simplifying the line-up.

Mercedes-Benz 2015 names

First, the German automaker’s crossover and SUV lineup will all start with “G” and the rest of the name will be aligned with the A-Class, C-Class, E-Class and S-Class:

GLA – The new small crossover based on the A-Class
GLC – Basically a renamed GLK
GLE – The M-Class, or ML-Class, gets renamed
GLE Coupe – The upcoming “four-door coupe” based on the M-Class
GLS – Currently the GL-Class, now the S-Class of the SUV range
G – The Geländewagen, or G-Wagen, remains unchanged

The numeric engine designations will still be added at the end, such as GLS500 and GLC250. The sedans and “four-door” coupes such as CLA and CLS keep their current names. But the SLK now becomes the SLC, while the SL-Class remains unchanged due to its heritage.

Also, additional badges such as “BlueTEC,” “Electric Drive,” “CDI” and “Hybrid” are being dropped in favour of one-letter add-ons at the end of the alphanumeric names. Standard petrol models won’t get any special designation, and 4Matic will continue to represent all-wheel-drive.

c – Compressed natural gas, currently “Natural Gas Drive”
d – Diesel, currently “BlueTEC” or “CDI”
e – Electric, currently “Plug-In Hybrid” and “Electric Drive”
f – Fuel cell, currently “F-Cell”
h – Hybrids, including diesel-hybrids

So there will be models such as the S400h and the GLC250d. And just to add that final touch, all AMG models will now be known as Mercedes-AMG, as seen in the new GT and C63 models, while the top-spec S-Class will be officially dubbed the Mercedes-Maybach S600.

As the new names are introduced, the corresponding models will also be getting a redesigned version, so no existing models will be rebadged.

What do you think?


Browse archives

Share This