Ferrari's Kimi wins 2009 Belgian F1 GP

Ferrari’s Kimi wins 2009 Belgian F1 GP

In what has to be the most random podium finishes of the season, Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen became the sixth different victor in six races, and his first for 2009, with a closely-raced success in Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix, in which his KERS system played a crucial role in the opening stages. Interestingly, perennial loser Force India came in second, after the team’s Giancarlo Fisichella took pole in qualifying.

Raikkonen was dogged all the way to the flag by a gallant Giancarlo Fisichella in the Force India, who kept him honest throughout on the first medium downforce circuit of the season. Behind them, Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel drove strongly for third, closing on them both by the finish. Raikkonen crossed the finish line 0.9 seconds ahead, with Vettel 2.9 seconds behind Fisichella.

Jenson Button’s hopes of adding to his points tally in the Brawn GP ended at Les Combes on the first lap when he was spun out by Romain Grosjean’s Renault, while in a separate incident Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren tagged Jaime Alguersuari’s Toro Rosso while trying to avoid the mess. The two incidents are currently under investigation by the race stewards.

After a safety car intervention, Raikkonen, who had sped up to second behind Fisichella on the opening lap, lost no time using his KERS to slingshot by the Italian on the run up Raidillon to Les Combes on the fifth lap, but Fisichella pushed him all the way.

Red Bull’s Mark Webber looked strong initially until an unsafe release from his first pit stop nearly put rival BMW Sauber’s Nick Heidfeld in the pit-lane wall. A drive-through penalty subsequently dropped him to ninth.

Renault’s Fernando Alonso also seemed on course for a healthy helping of points after running the longest opening stint, but a brush with Force India’s Adrian Sutil in La Source on the opening lap had damaged the left front wheel, and after a disastrously long pit stop on Lap 24 he had to come in again to retire a lap later when the left front wheel could not be secured satisfactorily.

Vettel was able to vault past a fast-starting Robert Kubica after his second stop on the 35th lap and said his Red Bull was perfect thereafter, but the Pole brought his BMW Sauber home fourth ahead of closing team mate Heidfeld. The German has passed Toyota’s Jarno Trulli for second at the start but ran wide and lost ground, allowing Kubica to nip down the inside to run third initially.

Heikki Kovalainen did a one-stop strategy in his McLaren to stay ahead of Brawn GP’s Rubens Barrichello for sixth place. The Brazilian, who bogged down off the grid, was saved to an extent by the intervention of the safety car which enabled Brawn to refuel him for a longer opening stint in a fast first-lap pit stop, but had to back off at the end when his Mercedes engine showed signs of failing. He just made it to the flag ahead of a closing Nico Rosberg, who drove yet another strong race for Williams to score the final point, while Webber just missed out with ninth after a frustrating race.

Toyota’s Timo Glock had a fuel rig problem in his first stop which delayed him, and could not better 10th, under pressure at the end from Force India’s Sutil. Behind them Sebastien Buemi brought his Toro Rosso home 12th ahead of Williams’ Kazuki Nakajima and an unimpressive Luca Badoer, who was the last finisher for Ferrari.

Besides Alonso and the first lap crashers, the other retirement was Trulli, whose front wing was damaged when he made contact with Heidfeld’s BMW Sauber on the opening lap. That ruined the Italian’s race, as did a later refuelling problem, similar to Glock’s.

In the title stakes, Barrichello took two more points off Button, who still has 74 to the Brazilian’s 56. Vettel moves back ahead of Webber with 53 to the Australian’s 51.5.In the constructors’ championship Brawn have 128 points, Red Bull 104.5, Ferrari 56 and McLaren 44.


1 4 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 44
2 21 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes
3 15 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault
4 5 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber
5 6 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber
6 2 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes
7 23 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes
8 16 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota
9 14 Mark Webber RBR-Renault
10 10 Timo Glock Toyota
11 20 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes
12 12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari
13 17 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota
14 3 Luca Badoer Ferrari
Ret 7 Fernando Alonso Renault
Ret 9 Jarno Trulli Toyota
Ret 22 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
Ret 8 Romain Grosjean Renault
Ret 1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes
Ret 11 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari


1 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 74
2 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 56
3 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 53
4 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 51.5
5 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 34
6 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 30.5
7 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 27
8 Jarno Trulli Toyota 22.5
9 Felipe Massa Ferrari 22
10 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 17
11 Timo Glock Toyota 16
12 Fernando Alonso Renault 16
13 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 10
14 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 8
15 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 8
16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 3
17 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari 2
18 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 0
19 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 0
20 Nelsinho Piquet Renault 0
21 Luca Badoer Ferrari 0
22 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 0
23 Romain Grosjean Renault 0


1 Brawn-Mercedes 128
2 RBR-Renault 104.5
3 Ferrari 56
4 McLaren-Mercedes 44
5 Toyota 38.5
6 Williams-Toyota 30.5
7 BMW Sauber 18
8 Renault 16
9 Force India-Mercedes 8
10 STR-Ferrari 5

What do you think?



  1. Force India is 2nd that is kinda weird because last year they struggled to get a single point

Browse archives

Share This